

Phil Norrey Chief Executive

To: The Members of the

Teignbridge Highways and Traffic Orders Committee

County Hall Topsham Road Exeter Devon EX2 4QD

(See below)

Your ref : Date : 5 July 2017

Our ref : Please ask for : Fiona Rutley 01392 382305

Email: fiona.rutley@devon.gov.uk

TEIGNBRIDGE HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE

Thursday, 13th July, 2017

A meeting of the Teignbridge Highways and Traffic Orders Committee is to be held on the above date at 10.30 am at The Council Chamber, Forde House, Teignbridge District Council Offices to consider the following matters.

P NORREY Chief Executive

AGENDA

PART I - OPEN COMMITTEE

- 1 Apologies for absence
- 2 Election of Chairman and Vice-Chairman

(NB: In accordance with the County Council's Constitution, the Chairman and Vice-Chairman must be County Councillors. County and District Councillors may vote)

3 Minutes

Minutes of the meeting held on 30 March 2017 (previously circulated).

4 <u>Items Requiring Urgent Attention</u>

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as matters of urgency.

5 <u>Members' Induction</u>

Presentation by the Acting Chief Officer for Highways, Infrastructure Development and Waste.

6 <u>Devon Highways Term Maintenance Contract</u>

A representative from Skanska to discuss issues with Members.

7 <u>A380 South Devon Highway: Review of Traffic Enforcement Options (minute *29, 30 March 2017)</u>

Police representative to report on monitoring and enforcement on the South Devon Highway, surrounding roads and the general Teignbridge area.

8 Annual Waiting Restriction Programme (Pages 1 - 12)

Report of the Acting Chief Officer for Highways, Infrastructure Development and Waste (HIW/17/62), attached.

Electoral Divisions: All in Teignbridge

9 Request for extension of 30mph speed limit on St Marychurch Road, and Alteration of Aller Brake Road junction, Newton Abbot (Pages 13 - 18)

Report of the Acting Chief Officer for Highways, Infrastructure Development and Waste (HIW/17/63), attached.

Electoral Divisions: Newton Abbot South, Ipplepen & The Kerswells

10 Newton Abbot East West Cycleway, Phase 2 (Pages 19 - 22)

Report of the Head of Planning, Transportation and Environment (PTE/17/43), attached.

Electoral Divisions: Newton Abbot North; Newton Abbot South; and Teignbridge South

11 <u>Highweek Area, Newton Abbot - Experimental Traffic Regulation Order</u> (Pages 23 - 38)

Report of the Head of Planning, Transportation and Environment (PTE/17/44), attached.

Electoral Divisions: Bovey Rural and Newton Abbot North

STANDING ITEMS

12 Petitions/Parking Policy Reviews

[An item to be taken under s18 of the Traffic Management Act 2004 relating to any reviews of parking policy sought in line with the Council's Petition Scheme] (https://new.devon.gov.uk/democracy/guide/constitutionparts2-4/part-4-section-7-petition-scheme/).

MATTERS FOR DECISION

MATTERS FOR INFORMATION

13 Calendar of Meetings

Please use link below for County Council Calendar of Meetings; http://democracy.devon.gov.uk/mgCalendarMonthView.aspx?GL=1&bcr=1

PART II - ITEMS WHICH MAY BE TAKEN IN THE ABSENCE OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

Part II Reports

Members are reminded that Part II reports contain exempt information and should therefore be treated accordingly. They should not be disclosed or passed on to any other person(s).

Members are also reminded of the need to dispose of such reports carefully and are therefore invited to return them to the Democratic Services Officer at the conclusion of the meeting for disposal.

Agenda Items and Attendance of District & Town/Parish Councillors

Under the provisions of Standing Order 23, any member of the HATOC (including the District Council representatives) may put an item on the Agenda for the HATOC relevant to the functions of the Committee, subject to them giving notice in writing to the Chief Executive of the matter to be discussed by 9.00am on the eighth working day before the meeting.

Any member of the District Council for the area covered by the HATOC who is not a member of the Committee, or a Town or Parish Councillor within the area covered by the HATOC, may, after giving 24 hours' notice in writing to the Chief Executive, attend and speak to any item on the Agenda with the consent of the Committee.

For further information please contact Fiona Rutley on 01392 382305.

Membership

County Councillors

Councillors S Barker, J Brodie, J Brook, J Clatworthy, A Connett, A Dewhirst, G Gribble, G Hook, R Peart and S Russell

Teignbridge District Council

Councillors S Cook, M Haines, R Prowse and R Winsor

Devon Association of Local Councils

Councillor R Winsor (Observer)

Declaration of Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare any interest they may have in any item to be considered at this meeting, prior to any discussion taking place on that item.

Access to Information

Any person wishing to inspect any minutes, reports or lists of background papers relating to any item on this agenda should contact Fiona Rutley on 01392 382305.

Agenda and minutes of the Committee are published on the Council's Website and can also be accessed via the Modern.Gov app, available from the usual stores.

Webcasting, Recording or Reporting of Meetings and Proceedings

The proceedings of this meeting may be recorded for broadcasting live on the internet via the 'Democracy Centre' on the County Council's website. The whole of the meeting may be broadcast apart from any confidential items which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public. For more information go to: http://www.devoncc.public-i.tv/core/

In addition, anyone wishing to film part or all of the proceedings may do so unless the press and public are excluded for that part of the meeting or there is good reason not to do so, as directed by the Chairman. Any filming must be done as unobtrusively as possible from a single fixed position without the use of any additional lighting; focusing only on those actively participating in the meeting and having regard also to the wishes of any member of the public present who may not wish to be filmed. As a matter of courtesy, anyone wishing to film proceedings is asked to advise the Chairman or the Democratic Services Officer in attendance so that all those present may be made aware that is happening.

Members of the public may also use Facebook and Twitter or other forms of social media to report on proceedings at this meeting. An open, publicly available Wi-Fi network (i.e. DCC) is normally available for meetings held in the Committee Suite at County Hall. For information on Wi-Fi availability at other locations, please contact the Officer identified above.

Public Participation

Any member of the public resident in the administrative area of the County of Devon may make a presentation on any proposed traffic order being considered by the Committee. Any request to make a presentation must be given to the Chief Executive's Directorate, County Hall, Exeter by 12 noon on the forth working day before the relevant meeting.

For further information please contact Fiona Rutley on 01392 382305.

Emergencies

In the event of the fire alarm sounding leave the building immediately by the nearest available exit, following the fire exit signs. If doors fail to unlock press the Green break glass next to the door. Do not stop to collect personal belongings, do not use the lifts, do not re-enter the building until told to do so.

Mobile Phones

Please switch off all mobile phones before entering the Committee Room or Council Chamber

If you need a copy of this Agenda and/or a Report in another format (e.g. large print, audio tape, Braille or other languages), please contact the Information Centre on 01392 380101 or email to: centre@devon.gov.uk or write to the Democratic and Scrutiny Secretariat at County Hall, Exeter, EX2 4QD.

